DEEN

Infographics and Playing Cards –
How does this connect?

2013 Skat is celebrating its 200th anniversary. On this occasion we designed an illustrated game instructions on two double pages in our IN GRAPHICS Vol. 6. While we researched on this subject we discovered remarkable facts about playing cards in general:

The Magic of Playing cards

Red and black cards represent day and night — the four suits stand for the seasons. There are 52 regular cards — just as much as weeks in a year. Every colour consists of 13 cards — the moon circles around earth 13 times. The values of one suit combined count 91 (ace = 1, king = 13) — the number of days per season. The number seven marks excatly the middle of all values and represents the days per week. All cards combined add up to 364 — nearly the number of days in a year. One joker fulfills the 365. The second one cover the additional day of a leap year. And even more mathematical curiosities could be found.

Math and Design

Our ambition was fuled and we started to design cards which are graphically just as stringent as their counting system. The back design is based upon a pentagram, the symbol of our agency. Working with the "golden section" it is easy to create such a pentagram or spiral. But not only the back of the cards but also the front is based upon those rules. All this was done while maintaining the symbolism of the international design, which concern the weapons, the accessories and even the line of sight. The spiral on the back – based upon a pentagram – form the hair and beards but also redraws the aces' suit symbolism. Even the symbols have been redesigned for a distinctive appearance of both the red and black suits into a light and a dense. And naturally even the composition of those symbols follows a distinct rhythm.

Recommendation: Buy it!

As an little extra we added a bidding and game value table for Skat from the IN GRAPHICS Vol. 6 article. If this card is used as the third joker and two decks are combined you are even able to play Canasta. In order to play Skat the two jokers and the cards from two to six need to be removed. The table can also be downloaded here as a PDF file. It is licened under the Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported license. Bidding and game value table as PDF

Order

The deck was printed at the Nürnberger Spielkartenfabriken, who are known for their high quality. It can be ordered for 4.50 Euro with prepayment. The deck consists of 52 cards (Poker size), plus 2 joker and one game value table. It is wrapped in a cling film with a golden pull tab.
After your order you recieve a mail with all the necessary information for the payment. If you experience any problems please contact playingcards@ingraphics.info. You need to accept cookies in order to buy cards through the online form.

Contact
Shipping
Order
  1. × 4.5 = 4.5
    • + 2 Shipping (domestic)
    • + 3.1 Shipping (domestic)
    • + 5 Shipping (domestic)
  2. Order Total: 6.5
  3. I have read and accept the
    General Terms and Conditions
* Required input

DEEN

Infografik und Spielkarten –
passt das zusammen?

2013 feiert Skat 200jähriges Jubiläum. Aus diesem Anlass gestalteten wir im IN GRAPHICS Vol. 6 eine Skat-Anleitung auf zwei Doppelseiten mit vielen Grafiken. Dabei haben wir uns mit den Karten selbst auseinandergesetzt und erstaunliches herausgefunden:

Die Kartenmagie der Zahlen

Rote und Schwarze Karten repräsentieren Tag und Nacht – die vier Farben die Jahreszeiten. Es gibt 52 reguläre Karten – so viele wie Wochen im Jahr. Pro Farbe gibt es 13 Karten – die Anzahl der Mondumläufe pro Jahr. Die Punktwerte einer Farbe addieren sich zu 91 (Ass = 1, König = 13) – der Anzahl der Tage einer Jahreszeit. Die Sieben liegt genau in der Mitte aller Kartenwerte – die Anzahl der Tage pro Woche. Alle Werte summieren sich zu 364 – beinahe der Anzahl der Tage im Jahr. Fügt man einen Joker hinzu, sind die 365 Tage voll, ein weiterer deckt auch die Schaltjahre ab. Viele weitere mathematische Besonderheiten lassen sich finden.

Mathematik und Design

Unser Interesse war geweckt. Wir wollten eigene Karten gestalten, die auch grafisch so stringent sind wie ihr Zählsystem. Für das Design der Rückseite legten wir ein Pentagramm zu Grunde, das Symbol unserer Agentur. Mit der "Golden Section", also dem Goldenen Schnitt, lassen sich nämlich leicht Pentagramme und Spiralen erzeugen. Diese Formen verwendeten wir auch, um die Bilderkarten zu zeichnen. Dabei haben wir die Symbolik des internationalen Bildes so weit wie möglich respektiert, also Waffen, Accessoires und Blickrichtungen aufrecht erhalten. Die Spiralen auf der Rückseite (auf einem Pentagramm konstruiert) bilden Haare und Bärte und zeichnen die Form der Farbsymbole auf den Assen nach. Auch die Farbsymbole sind neu. Sie bieten eine gute Unterscheidbarkeit zwischen den beiden roten und den beiden schwarzen Farben. Und sogar die Anordnung der Symbole auf den Zählkarten folgt zwei Fünfecken.

Empfehlung: Kaufen!

Als kleine Dreingabe haben wir die Reiz- und Spielwerttabelle aus dem IN GRAPHICS Vol. 6 beigelegt. Wird sie als dritter Joker verwendet, kann man mit zwei Decks auch Canasta spielen. Für Skat freilich müssen die Joker und die Zählkarten Zwei bis Sechs heraus sortiert werden. Die Tabelle als PDF zum Download gibt es außerdem kostenlos hier. Sie steht unter unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung-Nicht-kommerziell 3.0 Deutschland Lizenz. Reiz- und Spielwerttabelle als PDF

Bestellen

Gedruckt haben wir das Deck übrigens bei den Nürnberger Spielkartenfabriken, die für ihre hohe Qualität bekannt sind. Es kann für 4,50 Euro bei uns per Vorkasse bestellt werden. Das Kartenspiel besteht aus 52 Karten (Poker-Size), plus zwei Jokern une einer Skat-Spielwerttabelle. Es ist in Klarsichtfolie mit goldenem Aufreißband verpackt.
Bestellen im IN GRAPHICS Shop